Writing the Slog

Resistance was strong today as I sought to make progress on my novel. It didn’t help that I realized that the last third, which I haven’t really tackled, needs substantial deepening. Days like this, when the goalpost inches farther away, my determination burns a little lower. Worst of all is the headwind of writing against the inner voice that says gosh, this is dumb; the Voice of Fear, a voice that draws strengths from little setbacks like today’s. Even though it’s not really a setback because hey, my end is now going to be stronger and more awesome. (Positive thinking. Positive thinking.)

Maybe the best way to just deal with The Voice is to say, my goal at this point is just to finish something I’m satisfied with, not to be great. So that on my tombstone they can engrave, SHE DID IT!

Leave a Reply

